The Trellis and the Vine

There is a book I have been reading the past few days that has been very helpful in thinking through discipleship, leadership and church ministry in general.  The book  is entitled The Trellis and the Vine by Colin Marshall and Tony Payne.  It was graciously given to me by Mark Dever.  I can confidently say I haven’t read a book that gets to the crux of the challenges we face in the church in the 21st century like this one does.  The solutions are both biblical and practical.

At Woodlawn, we are currently in a series on discipleship on Wednesday nights and I fully intend to assimilate some of the information I am gathering from this book.  It is that helpful.  I am sharing some of the ideas with our leadership and it only compliments what we have been striving to give attention to recently.  I will post some of the thoughts on this in future posts.  For now, watch the recommendation from Mark Dever:

Leave a Reply

